CSSB Centre for Structural Systems Biology
Home About us Leadership


The CSSB works as a cooperation of the participating research partners without its own legal identity.

CSSB Directorate
The CSSB Directorate is composed of the principal investigators appointed by the CSSB partners and meets approximately every two weeks. The CSSB Directorate is chaired by the Scientific Director. In addition, two Deputy Directors are elected by the Directorate.

The present Scientific Director is Prof. Dr. Kay Grünewald, Leibniz Institute of Virology (LIV) and Universität Hamburg

The Deputy Scientific Directors are Prof. Dr. Chris Meier, Universität Hamburg and Prof. Dr. Holger Sondermann, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY.

CSSB Office
The CSSB office is in charge of all organizational and administrative matters related to CSSB.

List of CSSB Office members and contact information.

CSSB Council
All CSSB partner research organisations are represented with voting rights in the CSSB council. Delegates of the governmental agencies funding CSSB are invited as guests to the council meetings. The CSSB research director reports to the council and participates at the meetings of the CSSB council. The council meets once a year.

The main tasks of the CSSB council are: overseeing the CSSB research activities, making decisions where interests, especially those of a financial nature, of CSSB partners are directly involved, approving the CSSB annual budget, appointing the CSSB research director.

The present chair of the CSSB council is Prof. Dr. Thomas Dobner, Leibniz Institute of Virology (LIV).

CSSB Scientific Advisory Board
The CSSB scientific advisory board advises the CSSB directorate and council on all relevant activities, particularly on its research portfolio and future plans. It meets at least once a year.

Members of the CSSB Scientific Advisory Board:

- Prof. Dr. Friedrich Förster, Universiteit Utrecht, The Netherlands

- Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Edda Klipp, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

- Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Kräusslich, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg

- Dr. Olivier Neyrolles, Institut de Pharmacologie et de Biologie Structurale, France

- Prof. Dr. Geoffrey L. Smith, University of Cambridge, UK

- Assoc. Prof. Dr. Wai-Hong Tham, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Australia